Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.   Thread: I'm not quitting but yeah, I'm frustrated... My view...

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    79 Posts

Default I'm not quitting but yeah, I'm frustrated... My view...

I am a 45 year old small business owner. I teach kids math, science, and engineering using LEGO. LEGO used to be my hobby but I needed a new outlet. I found AL two years ago just after Christmas when I got a Nexus 7. I have been a faithful player ever since. Before I had my own business I was a Software Engineer for several companies including IBM, I also volunteered from a fans perspective in the development of "LEGO Universe" a LEGO MMO that in the end didn't last a year for various reasons which I don't need to get into. So while I only know a little about game development I know a lot about software development.

As a child some of my favorite computer games were Bards Tale and some Dungeons and Dragons games. This was back in the day when you needed graph paper and meticulous notes to find your way around the cities and dungeons of the game. Younger AL players would probably laugh at those games if they played them now. Plus you just played them solo, there was no internet so MMO's hadn't even been thought of yet.

I loved AL because the subject matter was cool. I had no desire to get entangled in a game like WOW. The mobile aspect of AL and the neat graphics, dungeons, and player interaction were just what I was looking for. I do by plat, almost exclusively during plat sales but I am definitely NOT a plat whale.

My frustrations are many...