Thread: On the New Item Scaling

Guardian of Alterra FluffNStuff's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    551 Posts

Default On the New Item Scaling

I have been out of the Country for two weeks, so this is my first time seeing the new item scaling, so I apologize if what I am posting has already been stated or if there is a specific place for feedback on this issue. I am fully against the idea of item scaling in SL as it prevents non-level cap toons from looting level cap items, and this can have far reaching effects that might not have been considered.
    First, it separates farming from leveling. The amount of experience required to reach the level cap is increasing at a very high rate, and I was OK with that, as you previously did not need to be at the cap to farm the 'best' equipment. As long as there was a level cap player in the group, you could farm for items and also gain experience at the same time. I understand that this is equipment you are not able to use yet, but the chance at looting a purple or even a pink is what makes the game exciting. By removing that chance, this turns the leveling part into work required to reach the level cap so you can then farm.
    Second, and this goes along with the first, it makes it so there is ZERO reason for a non-level cap player to kill the boss. There has been a steady increase in players playing through a level then remaking before the boss due to the higher experience level, but there has always been players still willing to play the game as designed. Since these sub level cap players no longer have even a chance at a purple or a pink when killing a boss, it completely removes the incentive for them to do so.