Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Linux gives me the power I need to crush those who oppose me

  1. #1
    Junior Member maillard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default Linux gives me the power I need to crush those who oppose me

    For those people like me who use Linux on their desktop, I wanted to post a guide of what I did to get Arcane Legends working in Chrome and using an XBox wired controller instead of the keyboard.

    1) I have two video chips in my laptop (NVIDIA & Intel). The Intel chip is disabled. You may only have one but I am using the proprietary NVIDIA driver. I am not going to cover getting this driver working but if you need help you can PM me. There is an open source NVIDIA driver but I haven't tested it so it may work. Anyways, the first thing you need to check is if OpenGL is working by running:

    glxinfo | less

    You should see something like:

    name of display: :0
    display: :0 screen: 0
    direct rendering: Yes
    server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
    server glx version string: 1.4

    2) If not already installed, you need to install Chrome. The version I am using
    is 25.0.1364.84 beta.

    3) Then launch Chrome with:

    google-chrome --disable-gpu-sandbox --ignore-gpu-blacklist

    4) With Chrome running, go to the URL chrome://gpu/ and what you should see is:

    WebGL: Hardware accelerated

    If you don't see this then you'll get an error "WebGL is not supported."

    5) If you go this far you are good to go and can run Arcane Legends from Chrome
    by going to http://account.spacetimestudios.com/arcanelegends/

    So the keyboard is okay but is kind of wonky. However I have gotten use to it but can be annoying because I have had to disable some keys when playing Arcane Legends like the special forward/back browser keys and the F1 key. Because when I am spamming the keyboard sometimes I press something else by accident. You can use xmodmap to disable keys or remap them in Linux.

    But I found a Xbox controller driver project so I could use a wired Xbox controller with Arcane Legends.

    http://pingus.seul.org/~grumbel/xboxdrv/

    No binary for my distribution (Fedora) so I compiled it from source. Download the source and check the README in the tarball for complication instructions. Once the driver is compiled and installed this is what I had to do:

    1) Plug in Xbox controller to USB port
    2) rmmod xpad
    3) modprobe joydev
    4) chmod a+rw /dev/uinput
    5) xboxdrv --trigger-as-button=true --dpad-as-button --ui-buttonmap "dl=KEY_LEFT,dr=KEY_RIGHT,du=KEY_UP,dd=KEY_DOWN,a= KEY_1,b=KEY_2,x=KEY_3,y=KEY_4,rt=KEY_SPACE,rb=KEY_ 5,lt=KEY_Q,lb=KEY_E"

    This is the button/trigger mapping I am using. The dpad is sending the arrow keys to move around, the right trigger is to press the spacebar (auto attack) and the a,b,x,y buttons for skills.

    Also there is scripting by using the button event handler to send a macro when you press a button. I have played around with this and you can read more about it by reading the man page 'man xboxdrv'.

    And lastly, watch this video and use Linux and you too can be a super villain:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8LsxmQV8AXk

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to maillard For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Senior Member Wowsome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    [Grog Beach]
    Posts
    797
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    21
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    62
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    so coooool!

  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Negative result to me! Damn!

  5. #4
    Forum Adept Jexetta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    463
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    102
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    362
    Thanked in
    138 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the post, it works wonderfully.
    ORIGINAL ART BY CARLOS ORTEGA ELIZALDE
    46 R/W/M | <E N I G M A T I C> | CARROTS

  6. #5
    Forum Adept
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    476
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

    Default

    very good guide.

  7. #6
    Banned keikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    3,423
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    684
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    880
    Thanked in
    482 Posts

    Default

    This worked for me on my laptop!

    Question, is there anyway to load Chrome with the GPU settings without typing that each time in terminal? I tried loading Chrome then AL and it wouldn't work unless I had that command line in terminal.

  8. #7
    Forum Adept
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    476
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keikali View Post
    This worked for me on my laptop!

    Question, is there anyway to load Chrome with the GPU settings without typing that each time in terminal? I tried loading Chrome then AL and it wouldn't work unless I had that command line in terminal.
    maybe ur chrome version is updating every time u close it? and replace it?

    u should download a non-upgradable version of chrome i have the 29 version without updates.

  9. #8
    Luminary Poster Bless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    7,609
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    313
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    787
    Thanked in
    535 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maillard:1003751
    Also there is scripting by using the button event handler to send a macro when you press a button. I have played around with this and you can read more about it by reading the man page 'man xboxdrv'.
    Scripting and macros aren't allowed in STG games.
    Credits to Iady

  10. #9
    Banned keikali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    3,423
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    684
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    880
    Thanked in
    482 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xXz21 View Post
    maybe ur chrome version is updating every time u close it? and replace it?

    u should download a non-upgradable version of chrome i have the 29 version without updates.
    Doubt it. I just reinstalled the latest Chrome version yesterday and I had no issues when I typed that in terminal, but when I tried launching it as normal it wouldn't run it because of some graphic driver etc.

  11. #10
    Forum Adept
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    476
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keikali View Post
    Doubt it. I just reinstalled the latest Chrome version yesterday and I had no issues when I typed that in terminal, but when I tried launching it as normal it wouldn't run it because of some graphic driver etc.
    u need install an old chrome version without updates. bcus if u change somethin chrome updates automatic and remove the change u do before..

Similar Threads

  1. Linux Users :(
    By Sharlai in forum PL Technical Issues and Bugs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-02-2012, 11:33 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2012, 06:50 PM
  3. Nexe crashed during startup. Linux.
    By top4ek in forum SL Technical Issues and Bugs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 05:08 PM
  4. Pocket Legends on PC? Windows or Linux.
    By kevinh448 in forum PL New Players
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 03:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •