PDA

View Full Version : Bird Tank/Archer weilding swords?

Dreadnought
04-29-2010, 12:02 PM
So what's the deal on this build? I'm new and I have been hearing people saying that this is a good build however I cannot find a guide on this.

Can someone tell me pros/cons, what stats to invest and skills to spend on? Thanks alot.

pyro
04-29-2010, 02:27 PM
I'm not an expert at that build, but i'm starting to prepare a new character to try a melee bird, so let me try to explain some of the stuff.

The archer IS designed to play both range and melee, as there are two classes of one-handed weapons (knives and thrown daggers I think) and archer specific, dexterity-requiring shields.

I would describe a melee archer as more of a melee DPS/glass cannon than a tank. You should be able to do much more DPS than any warrior could (with focus turned on, maybe break armor, the explosion shot thing, etc.) and you will have decent dodge and can put some points into evasion, but ultimately you can go down with just a couple good hits from a boss…*so you can probably tank smaller groups, but just nothing crazy.

The thing is I've also heard that this type of archer was somewhat nerfed in a previous patch, and bows will period output more DPS right now, so I think for the moment it's more of a 'for fun' class to try out.

LordRaid
04-29-2010, 11:24 PM
I'm not an expert at that build, but i'm starting to prepare a new character to try a melee bird, so let me try to explain some of the stuff.

The archer IS designed to play both range and melee, as there are two classes of one-handed weapons (knives and thrown daggers I think) and archer specific, dexterity-requiring shields.