PDA

View Full Version : My experiments with the economy

Bigsleazy
11-26-2010, 12:58 AM
This might be a long Ish thread, sorry. So, I've been playing for about 5 months now and have watched the prices for rare items fluctuate since ao3 came out (I'm an economics major so these things interest me). Two weeks ago, I decided to see how easy it would be to artificially inflate/deflate prices. So, with 400k cash in hand and plenty of time, I started buying jacobs helms of void every time I saw one for cheap. After acquiring 12 of them, I went to work. What I would do is post them for the second lowest price, then drop them again everytime somebody would put one up for less. Since nobody has any patience and wants money for their items asap, this involved around 5-7 price changes a day. I started selling them at 65k. Currently I have them down to 45k, hoping to hit 30k in the next couple of days. I have sold 6 helms, 6 left. The point of all of this is to show how easy it is to mess with the prices in this game. Imagine I had done the opposite, and bought helms and not sold them? The price might be as high as 80k at this time. And I am a relatively poor player. This game needs some sort of price controls, as a few wealthy players control the prices for many major items, especially wraith/force/mirage armors. Price fixing is entirely too easy for anybody with time and unethical intentions. Also, watch the prices of my helms! Thoughts/suggestions are welcome!

Ellyidol
11-26-2010, 01:06 AM
Agree. There was a small hoard before 1.5 came out on Wraith Armours, his thread should be around in Trading Section somewhere. I'm not sure how that turned out for him though.

I'm actually one of those players that just want to sell them as soon as I can, since my thought is that they always get cheaper by the day since more of them come in but none of them are eliminated.