PDA

View Full Version : Question about the gold in the game.

Fauksuras
02-21-2014, 02:37 AM
Hi

Today I had a question I'm hoping somebody can answer to me or at least give me a better idea. I'm relatively new to MMORPGs although I played MUDs in the old days and have played plenty of RPGs.

The way other games have worked in the past for me is you make some of your money or most from selling items in game (a la sell option we have) or farming.

In Arcane Legends we farm for items because the gold drops are very...negligible and liquidating items doesn't exactly turn you into Scrooge McDuck.

Locked crates either give you items or different quantities of gold. The max being 300k (I think) assuming you get 3 rolls for 100k each.

I see people selling (and more surprising buying) items for ridiculous quantities of gold such as arcane pets,weapons and recently the Jester Vanities.

So here is my question, where is that gold coming from? Only feasible answer I can find is plat to gold conversion but at 1 plat = 1000 gold I can't imagine a lot of people doing this, so seriously where is it coming from? Or is it simply sheer quantity of people playing that are turning these low gold drops/liquidated gold/crate gold prize into the dozens of millions we see traded?

I mean, thinking back into the beginnings of a game, say player A farms map X and player B farms map Y. Let's say both get an item and both want the item the other found, how does gold enter the equation? I can see them trading the items but not much gold being traded.

Is it simply the sheer number of people playing getting those small amounts turning into large sums? Is it plat to gold conversion? Just how much gold is there currently in Arcane Legends?

Thanks

j3peaz
02-21-2014, 06:09 AM