PDA

View Full Version : Customizable Crafting

Gluttony
02-11-2011, 05:20 PM
I'm pretty new to the whole MMORPG scene, but I know RPGs. Usually when there is an aspect of crafting you need base materials, a piece of gear and an item modifier type material (gems in this case). When crafting an item I would like the ability to add a gem modifier to the item in order to get an increase in that specific item (up to 3 max), this would be a one time craft and cannot be reattempted. All items would be consumed in the craft, and the item would only retain it's stats while it remains in the toon's inventory. If the item is stashed or placed in cs then item reverts to a non-modified crafted weapon. The gems would have to become droppable in all campaigns and initially this system would only be applied to the crafted items currently available. If it were to gain success it could eventually be transferred to new gear.

Example:
Custom gemstone leather
Base materials: Fine leather panel x2, Leather cord, Gemstone setting
Gear: Raid Roach Gemstone Leather
Modifier:
Magic gem (+5 M/s)
Presto gem (+5 H/s)
Focus gem (+1 Crit)
Hawkeye gem (+1 Hit %)
Power gem (+1 DPS)
Gladiator gem (+2 Armor)
Swift gem (+0.5 Dodge)
Berserker gem (+2 Damage)

It's been months and there has been no real changes to the crafting system itself, but when there is a small implementation (adding extra stats to a set) that item become extremely popular and a surge of crafters appear. I see the current system replaces this stat for that stat, and causes people to avoid crafting completely. If was possible to choose the stats that were changed via the crafting process it might be possible to allow each player to create an item that caters to their own needs. I'm just thinking of an idea that would make most reasonably happy with the crafting system.

Physiologic
02-11-2011, 05:34 PM