PDA

View Full Version : Why Do We Still Play?

Sheugokin
03-11-2015, 08:50 PM
This is a complex issue that you yourself need to evaluate the reasons behind your persistence to play a so-called "dead" game.

I have thought of some possible reasons, some more common among people than others.

1) Investment- Especially oldies and platinum buyers, people have spend so much time and money on this WONDERFUL game.

I have been playing PL for almost 4 years now and some people almost five years. What people need to understand is that this game was and maybe still is their only source of entertainment and release of stress, anger, depression, you name it.

2) Friends- I have met some of my best friends in PL. Some friends are a little kooky I may add but after all each and every TRUE friend is there for a reason, emotional support.

3) PvP or PvE- Maybe one of the weakest point, but that is what the game is based on right?

4) The undying ambition to believe there still will perhaps be progression in the game- Self explanatory.

Giazagilur
03-11-2015, 09:27 PM
I think you mostly said it all and I wholeheartedly agree.
1) Time investment - I've definitely spent a considerable amount of time on this game. 3-4 years of playing this game is a lot. It is only inevitable that I become attached to this game whether it be physically by playing the game, or emotionally by never forgetting the fond memories I've experienced.

2) Friends - PL is NOTHING without it's social community. The friends I have made, the new friends I have yet to make, the ignorant/annoying/etc. players I've unfortunately had to encounter - they all make up the fun of PL imo.

3) PvP or PvE - As you mentioned this is the base of PL. This is the common-ground that allows all players to meet and connect. It is perfect for the needed, or perhaps unneeded, distraction from life. It's a time-killer when boredom strikes.