PDA

View Full Version : About Remien's last weekly update

ueveotadeo
03-12-2015, 07:15 AM
I'm here to share my thoughts on the latest week announcement. Please Dev/Mods, if you are reading this thread, don't delete it again, talk with us!

First topic Id like to discuss is Skill System Revamp. But first let me tell a quick story.

As I mentioned in some threads, I work as an IT Consultant, and last year we were (still is btw) in this project that was about a Document Management System for the blueprints and management documents related with 2016 Olympics. By February 2014 we had in production what we thought was a good system. People were using it, we were having a lot of uploads but we lacked something and that was listening more to the client. We were starting to see some limitations on how we catalog documents and our associated workflows due to this lack of communication and although we could let it as it was, the client was starting to lose his trust on us. By that time our contract here extended until end of December 2014. We started to having more team meetings due to the constant need of "hand" intervention in some process and went into further discussion to understand the client.
To our surprise, what he asked involved re factoring most of the key features in our system, also we noticed how the lack of trust grew, we couldn't discuss requisites with them anymore, it was what they want and period. That shows how unhappy they were, and we never want an unhappy client, happy customer is a paying customer. So after 2 or 3 months of endless nights we did re factored the system, we migrated the data and trained the users. At the beginning was hard, hard to the point you wanted to quit, but it's march and we still have this contract so was worth it.