PDA

View Full Version : A new beginning...

CrimsonTider
10-01-2011, 08:10 PM
Some of you know I am a teacher and even fewer know I work with children with special needs. On Tuesday, I was offered a position at an elementary school 5 minutes from my home. It is a wonderful opportunity to continue my growth and work with a different group of children.

However, this decision became much more difficult than I expected. The school I am leaving is an inner city middle school. One can only imagine the challenges involved with this student population. I have often wonderded why I put as much effort into it as I do. Well, all of my questions were answered yesterday. The day was spent seeing young men, of whom often tell me to "shut up", with tears flowing from their eyes and at a loss for words. Kids who have threatened to shoot me, giving me hugs and asking me to not leave.

I do NOT make this thread to "toot my own horn." Rather, I share this with you to send a message: Be careful of your actions as you never know who is watching. My grandfather use to tell me, "Cuz, character is who you are when noone is looking." Treat each day as an opportunity to set an example for you never know how's life you will touch/change.

WoundedEagle
10-01-2011, 08:18 PM
Touching to say the least. Did you make the decision? I can't relate. But there is one thing I know. I am in High school and can't remember the names of my middle school teacher. Yeah, it is going to suck to leave, but you have to look at the brighter side. Kids aren't going to threaten to shoot you in elementary unless their.... never mind. I would say to go with the elementary school. My opinion doesn't matter, but if you can do your best with kids in elementary to show a kind heart, maybe when they get to middle school they won't be threatening to shoot their teacher. Just my 2 pence

Lillypink
10-01-2011, 08:20 PM