PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone use a laptop + externals?

Ellyidol
11-13-2011, 03:45 AM
Been contemplating whether a good gaming laptop (eyeing Razer Blade, but meh on price) or a good gaming desktop is the right choice.

I'm leaning more towards the laptop since it gives me portability. I'm a student, currently living in a rented apartment, so a desktop seems a bit too constrained.

I was told to get a laptop but use an external monitor though. Anyone have experience on this? I could see it working, but wouldn't the laptop have to be in front of the monitor, therefore obstructing and distracting your view to the monitor? If you push the laptop to the side, there goes your keyboard with it. Or is it possible to use an external keyboard as well?

Ultimately, is it possible to use a laptop just as a processor while using an external monitor and keyboard? I'm thinking, games on the big screen while browser, chatting, etc on the laptop screen.

In need of tech-sperts ;) Thanks.

Gluttony
11-13-2011, 03:52 AM
Yes it is quite possible to use a laptop while using a peripheral mouse, keyboard and monitor, but that is basically like having a desktop since towers can be pretty small. If it is just for gaming then a laptop is a decent choice, but keep in mind that some games need to install massive files on the hard drive of whatever system you buy and if the laptop has a small stock hard drive it could limit your options; there are always ways around that since you can always removed any software before you move onto another game or just upgrade your hd. I have always preferred a desktop to a laptop when it came to gaming, but there are some pros and cons to the laptop option:

Pros:

Mobility
Easy setup

Cons:

Requires peripherals
Not easily upgraded
Overheating issues
Price

Ellyidol
11-13-2011, 03:56 AM