PDA

View Full Version : Arcane Legends inspired short story

Swede
06-06-2012, 11:16 AM
Hi guys! So I like to write little shorts of fiction to inspire the team working on our games and thought I'd share one I made early for Arcane Legends. A lot of details that one can pick out of these never make it in to the game as they're generally made before production starts but when Arcane Legends is released, you might recognize some things from this story. I write these to set the tone of the game and put a picture in the team's mind that they can use to come up with great content, art and... well maybe not code.

This was never meant to be seen outside the company and I'm not that good with forum code so I couldn't make it look as pretty as the original (indentations instead of new rows etc). Hopefully it's still enjoyable.

Karl knew he shouldn’t have volunteered for this. He wasn’t cut out for adventure, much preferring to spend his evenings with a good book and his favorite pipe. Times were desperate though. Someone had to help or Brackenridge would be overrun, it was inevitable.

The filthy little creatures had come out of nowhere, at first preying only on the weak and defenseless, women and the elderly.The villagers had easily fought back, in small numbers the creatures were no match. However, it didn’t take long for the pests to multiply. Like the pigweed plaguing the fields in the spring, where one was cut down, two more would sprout. Now they had surrounded Brackenridge and some of them had been spotted in the town itself.

Exhausted but afraid to slow down, Karl kept running, his lungs struggling to keep up with the panicked pace. The howls of the goblin's wulf mounts had followed him since he snuck past their camps. The sound was so haunting that by now he was afraid to turn around, expecting to be face to face with one of the beasts.