PDA

View Full Version : Roleplaying - Does PL Lend Itself To This?

Spiritualist
08-23-2010, 03:32 AM
I was wondering, IYOs, does PL lend itself to being a game where people can roleplay? On the face of it, I don't see why not. Players can get into character and make sure their actions and chats are appropriate for their characters and the settings. But I was wondering whether there might be some limitations in what one could do in an RP environment. What are your thoughts? Does roleplay interest you at all? Can you see an opening RP?

Snakespeare
08-23-2010, 08:20 AM
I see it more in PvP, but it usually comes out in people having real reactions to their character's success or failure. Once in a while I see it in PvE, when someone has their character say something in context, but it's usually a hack-and-slash context. I've been playing tabletop RPGs continuously for 25+ years, but that sort of roleplaying doesn't occur here. Just the occasional "die, you desert marauder, die!" comes out.

Spiritualist
08-23-2010, 08:35 AM
But is there anything you think to prohibit RPing in PL? Any fundementals that would stop RP from working?

Tabletop RPGs do often feature two sides but I've seen many RP MUDs previously and in my mind, PL could follow these lines. If there were a group of RPers gathering around, they can chat in context, RP between kills and enjoy the RP experience, taking their time to complete a level - after all, XPing and leveling isn't their goal. Characters could come up with backgroud stories and the like, relationships could be forged between players... the normal RP stuff.

Dharken
08-23-2010, 09:28 AM
First things that come to mind are typing being painful (unless you have an ipad i guess), a lack of emotes ... The game is obviously geared towards constant action and thats understandable given the devices it runs on.