PDA

View Full Version : Definition of 'Farming'.

MurdocX
10-08-2010, 01:32 AM
1. No, I'm not a noob hoping to figure out the methodology to a quick-fix for loads of gold.

2. I'm not a total noob, been an MMO gamer for 6 or so years. Please leave the trolling and condescending comments out of your replies.

3. The reason for me asking is because who ever coined the term 'Farming' in MMO Gaming, used it to refer to the easier of two or more methods of making money on a game. However, a lot of gamers call anything that gets them money farming so it's a loose term.

From what I've heard there's 2, possibly 3, methods of farming on PL. I was kicked the other day from a dungeon because they said I was 'farming'. To my knowledge I wasn't doing anything extra ordinary so I'm a bit confused as to what 'farming' means to the community of PL.

Please & Thankies,

Mur-Dizzle.

Fyrce
10-08-2010, 01:43 AM
If you were booted with reason "farming", I would think that means they were farming and either you were too low level, wrong class, or they already had a group going and one of them was just a bit late and they were saving his "seat".

MurdocX
10-08-2010, 01:50 AM
If you were booted with reason "farming", I would think that means they were farming and either you were too low level, wrong class, or they already had a group going and one of them was just a bit late and they were saving his "seat".

Ah, so I wasn't actually farming then lol.

Although I'm thankful for your reply, my initial question remains unanswered. What exactly is farming in PL? A friend of mine told me it was someone who basically did dungeoun runs and killed until they got what they wanted, then split. A random 45 bear told me farming is where 1 character or a team of characters rushes the bosses for the dropped items then leaves. Then another person told me it was someone who sits behind his team doing nothing collecting gold and XP.

MurMur is making a DurDur face at the moment. I'm confused lol.