PDA

View Full Version : What do Paladins do?

ProSophist
10-12-2010, 07:36 PM
Ok so I'm new to the game but I'm not quite sure what they really do.

I understand it is a Str build Enchant, but what is their specialty? Are they more of a tank? Dps? etc.

Not sure if they are a sub-par version of a tank bear.

Royce
10-12-2010, 07:56 PM
Tanking in this game isn't really about your armor alone. Paladins have armor enough that, despite lower health, they can stand in melee combat fairly well for a while using buffs and debuffs (BOV and Weakness are important for that, and mana shield as an emergency chute). However, they are not really able to provide the same services as a bear which has the skills (Beckon, Taunt, Stomp, stuns, etc.) to do what tanks should do in this game. To be honest, most paladins, since the level 40 cap when they became popular, have played basically like Int mages with heavy armor on. They take a spear poke or two at an enemy from time to time, but mostly run around spamming skills. This made sense since paladins were, at that level, able to have nearly the same mana regen as Int mages, and had much better survivability. However, that style of play IMO does not take enough advantage of the weapon DPS a paladin can provide, or the break armor proc of the weapon (spear) most used. Anyway, all that is changing now. At the new 50 cap, mana regen for Str gear is nearly nonexistent. It will be interesting to see if they continue to play like Int mages (wearing old level 45 gear with less armor but more mana regen), or if we'll see more playing like you might expect a paladin to play, wearing heavy armor with little regen and buff/debuffing, then fighting and healing on the front lines for periods alongside the tank and, and then ducking away when buffs run out to focus on more spell use (if mana is available). Sorry for that really long last sentence, and for probably giving way more information than you wanted.

ProSophist
10-12-2010, 08:05 PM