Thread: Help with dual spec/branching out

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Question Help with dual spec/branching out

Hello I am a new player and just decided to browse the forums for the first time today. Since I started my bear ive been pumping str and dex from time to time. But after coming to the forums I am seeing post of dual specs and also even "bowbears" which use archer weapons and gears. My questions are what the purpose of doing int for bear and wearing caster gear? or using bow weapon with dex? I may sound like a complete noob to sum but I am very confused seeing as tho I assume all our skills were for melee?? And another question would a caster be able to use mage skills with a sword/shield?? or a archer use archer skills with wand??

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    40 Posts

The whole ist of the game is that you pci your appearance and skill set a first, but depending upon what stat you specialize in you can use any weapon, do anything! Let me edit in proper response, this will take a few Long steps since writing on itouch...

Bears: mostly Personal skill set, the most stunning powers of all classes.
    Str: a tank that keeps the mobs movig and stunned and away from fragile people.
    -considered "pure" as is normal stat for bears. Have mos hp and least mana.
    -melee skills work great.
    Dex: a semi-tank with ranged abilities, hard to take down killers.
    -hybrid stat, used to concentrate on higher hit% and crit and of course ranged fighting.
    -melee stunning powers required to stop mobs and move away to keep shooting. Beckon then stomp gets them all close, then all away, and all stunned.
    Int: uses powerful and usefull magical weapons and takes advantage of high hp to survive.
    -hybrid stat, gives some nice m/s and staffs in general are known for nice abilities like Aoe damage and other procs. Though least wanted stat for bears.