Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Remember when...you were a noob - kind mentors or funny stories...

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    19 Posts

Wink Remember when...you were a noob - kind mentors or funny stories...

Hey all - just starting to post though I use the forums quite frequently as they are a treasure trove of information, but thought I would share this story & say thanks to the friendly & experienced players that kept me hitting that PL neeedle.

I started playing in Oct '10, managed to get to about lvl 28 by creating games (this is my first MMO) when I got discouraged because I kept on getting booted immediately from AO3. Well, I finally just created a game and tried to solo it, managed to kill about 8 aliens when Shahsyed joined, (laughed at my ridiculous attempt - but nicely) and recruited some lvl 50 friends. Dumbfounded and elated at their generosity, I thanked them and have never forgotten that random act of kindness. It allowed me to see a glimpse of what I had in store and have been hooked ever since.

So forgive my long-winded story (no fart jokes, please :P) but here's my shout-out to Shahsyed and all the experienced players that had the patience to put up with, not only a PL newb but a MMO newb as well!

p.s. I have since learned what MMORPG stands for and how fun they really are!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    260 Posts

Great story. I had mentors, too. I still look to Royce as a mentor, in fact, but there were others. Like you, once I got some great help (in my case it was scads of information from the guy), I decided to never lose my appreciation for him.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    40 Posts

ive tried to help out individuals every so often... im usually disappointed in how they turn out tho guess my standards are too high lol

wish i had a mentor. during the mynas disaster nobody wanted anything to do with new people.