Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.   Thread: Regarding Buying Names

Forum Adept
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    77 Posts

Default Regarding Buying Names

Ever since I started playing AL I've wanted a cool name. However due to them all being taken, all my characters have random letter names that mean nothing.

Due to the recent release of names, I would be interested in buying a name that I could use. This unfortunatly is banable. So how do I get a name that someone is willing to let go for a cost without both of us getting banned?

I remember seeing name "contests" in the contest section which, in my eyes, is basically buying names. Is this against TOS?

For me having a cool, original name is more important then having a cool vanity or good gear. Now that people have rare names, I want to get my hands on one I like before they're all gone. I'm guessing many people will get banned for the sale of names since many others want cool names but were unable to get them after they were released and people are always looking for a way to get rich quick.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

It's supposedly against TOS, then again the majority of people hoard names to sell. I'm going to stare clear of this "trap" myself.

Forum Adept
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    77 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by gatzoo5505 View Post
    It's supposedly against TOS, then again the majority of people hoard names to sell. I'm going to stare clear of this "trap" myself.
    I would never risk being banned just to get a name. But if there was a way I could get a cool one whithout being banned, I would do it. Not sure why its banable in the first place but I guess we just need to follow the rules.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    20 Posts