Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Click here to go to the first Dev post in this thread.   Thread: Bringing Sense to the Madness

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    27 Posts

Default Bringing Sense to the Madness

Before reading any further, this is a supportive post for our wonderful development group. It is meant to highlight (in my prespective) recent events, and explain why I think the veteran community is being unfair and hot-headed toward STS. If you don't care for this, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Let's start with the opinion that the new maps since AO3 are crud and the devs aren't working hard. Really, not working hard. How many people here on the forums have a clue about programming and development? I do. I graduated with honors with degree in computer programming. Has anyone here ever done map texturing? I know a few of you that have. Not easy is it. Spent a lot of time doing custom mapping and texturing for mods for other games. Those few statements are not bragging. They are to establish that I have experience to be making the following statements. The slightest things in the world of game development can take enormous amounts of time to accomplish. Heck I know a couple of groups still working on filling in the gaps that we feel are apperant in Elder Scrolls III. Now, so the maps have all been forests and castles.....what more do you expect to see in a fantasy style game. In my honest opinion the AO Trilogy while great, does not fit in with the setting of Pocket Legends. I also concede that AO3 is the greatest of the campaigns to the majority of veteran players. I will even concede that the ones that don't think AO3 is the greatest probably think the Swamps are. Everything has one point in its existence that will outshine and define it. Just because the new maps aren't as game changing as AO3, you cannot say the devs are being slack.