Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: How to lower ping?

  1. #1
    Member Pulaxgang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    10
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default How to lower ping?

    I would kindly like to know if there are ways I can lower my ping to maybe below 100. I have a stable ping at 350-390, I have never seen below 300. I have tried different providers and upgrading devices to 2019-2020 models.
    I live in New Zealand half way around the world from where STS headquarters are. (Maybe due to servers?)

    I ask this because I have this really bad delay in ping. Where I am seeing arrows fly through rocks and hitting me. (Pvp mode TDM)

    Feel free to drop your opinion weather itís relevant or not lol


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Disruptiv

  2. #2
    Senior Member Encryptions's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Many places.
    Posts
    2,835
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    81
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    982
    Thanked in
    537 Posts

    Default

    Buy a plane ticket move to the US and get fiber optic wifi.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Encryptions For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Forum Adept
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    322
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    136
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    153
    Thanked in
    76 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pulaxgang View Post
    I would kindly like to know if there are ways I can lower my ping to maybe below 100. I have a stable ping at 350-390, I have never seen below 300. I have tried different providers and upgrading devices to 2019-2020 models.
    I live in New Zealand half way around the world from where STS headquarters are. (Maybe due to servers?)

    I ask this because I have this really bad delay in ping. Where I am seeing arrows fly through rocks and hitting me. (Pvp mode TDM)

    Feel free to drop your opinion weather it’s relevant or not lol


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    What Encryptions said basically. Unless your device is outdated or the internet you receive from your provider is slow, then I think the only way to improve ping is to move closer to the StS server

    Usually a lot of timed leaderboard runners leaders are from the US because of that. It’s just a very huge advantage if you have a ping 50 and below, it can make or break a record, for example

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    new zealand
    Posts
    42
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Ring ya net provider ask them to turn off "intervals" to your internet some charge 5bucks to do it

  6. #5
    Senior Member Arachnophobik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    457
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    482
    Thanked in
    229 Posts

    Default

    How bad is 300 really though? I play at 300 and feels fine for me, then again I don't play rogue, I'm a warrior which is generally slower in all aspects, but I've always played with around 250-400 ping (asia). Arrows going through rocks seem more like an animation problem as I don't think the arrow animation stops once it hits the rocks, giving the placebo that you're being hit. (don't take my word for it, I'm not their dev). The animations, in general, aren't in sync for the most part with the actual skills and effects, i.e using Chest Splitter on a speed set and you'll miss most of your hits because it seems it registers your position beyond where the animation actually is, you'll have to stay still for it to hit the way you want to.

    That or you're right about the ping messing your game, dunno :/

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Arachnophobik For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Member Pulaxgang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    104
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    10
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Encryptions View Post
    Buy a plane ticket move to the US and get fiber optic wifi.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
    Would if boarders are open?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Disruptiv

  9. #7
    Member Athina Lopes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    83
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    87
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arachnophobik View Post
    How bad is 300 really though? I play at 300 and feels fine for me, then again I don't play rogue, I'm a warrior which is generally slower in all aspects, but I've always played with around 250-400 ping (asia). Arrows going through rocks seem more like an animation problem as I don't think the arrow animation stops once it hits the rocks, giving the placebo that you're being hit. (don't take my word for it, I'm not their dev). The animations, in general, aren't in sync for the most part with the actual skills and effects, i.e using Chest Splitter on a speed set and you'll miss most of your hits because it seems it registers your position beyond where the animation actually is, you'll have to stay still for it to hit the way you want to.

    That or you're right about the ping messing your game, dunno :/
    Imagine you as rogue(300ping) vsing another rogue from USA with 20-30 ping , which u can be easily be beated with only 1-2hits ...is a pain zzzz

    Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk

  10. #8
    Forum Adept
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    385
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    31
    Thanked in
    25 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Athina Lopes View Post
    Imagine you as rogue(300ping) vsing another rogue from USA with 20-30 ping , which u can be easily be beated with only 1-2hits ...is a pain zzzz

    Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk
    Thats why i dont pvp i always have 350-500 ping and i lag and then am dead.
    But i tried using the 1.1.1.1 dns app it makes pve playable but pvp is still a no i keep getting farmed before i can react to anything

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Skolking For This Useful Post:


  12. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    India
    Posts
    509
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    12
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Encryptions View Post
    Buy a plane ticket move to the US and get fiber optic wifi.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
    How can all the Asian players who r having the same issue move to US?

    Sent from my POCO X2 using Tapatalk

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Badsha Khan For This Useful Post:


  14. #10
    Senior Member Spooked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Probably not where you are
    Posts
    926
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    303
    Thanked in
    184 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Badsha Khan View Post
    How can all the Asian players who r having the same issue move to US?

    Sent from my POCO X2 using Tapatalk
    Thats besides the point

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Spooked For This Useful Post:


  16. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    97
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    70
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    11 Posts

    Default

    get better internet

    Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

  17. #12
    Senior Member Antispace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    843
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    96
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    88
    Thanked in
    44 Posts

    Default

    Have you tried to play via lan on ur pc/laptop or example?

  18. #13
    Member Nouts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    170
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    18
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Encryptions View Post
    Buy a plane ticket move to the US and get fiber optic wifi.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
    Wkwkkwkwk

    Enviado de meu SM-A205G usando o Tapatalk

  19. #14
    Forum Adept Overbear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    The Abyss
    Posts
    393
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    199
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    149
    Thanked in
    84 Posts

    Default

    Try using an ethernet cable, or move to the east coast in the United States.

  20. #15
    Guardian of Alterra Zeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    25,198
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2,630
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5,851
    Thanked in
    2,937 Posts

    Default

    I heard of one player running AL thru a cloud VPN. As a result, he was able to get 50 ping in China. I am not sure if that is allowed though or if it is cost-effective.
    Click My Signature to Check Out My YouTube Channel.
    Warning: Any Beggars Will Be Put On Ignore List

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Zeus For This Useful Post:


  22. #16
    Senior Member Spooked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Probably not where you are
    Posts
    926
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    303
    Thanked in
    184 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    I heard of one player running AL thru a cloud VPN. As a result, he was able to get 50 ping in China. I am not sure if that is allowed though or if it is cost-effective.
    Cost efficient most definitely, and if hes not doing anything related to ingame rewarding through 3rd party providers also allowed.

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to Spooked For This Useful Post:


  24. #17
    Guardian of Alterra Zeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    25,198
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2,630
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5,851
    Thanked in
    2,937 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spooked View Post
    Cost efficient most definitely, and if hes not doing anything related to ingame rewarding through 3rd party providers also allowed.
    It still won't be true 50 ping, as you have to now add in the ms delay of the cloud vpn. However, it will be a lot better than 300 ping. That approach will probably be a 100-150 true ping.
    Click My Signature to Check Out My YouTube Channel.
    Warning: Any Beggars Will Be Put On Ignore List

  25. #18
    Senior Member Lawpvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1,282
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    39
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    188
    Thanked in
    93 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Arachnophobik View Post
    How bad is 300 really though? I play at 300 and feels fine for me, then again I don't play rogue, I'm a warrior which is generally slower in all aspects, but I've always played with around 250-400 ping (asia). Arrows going through rocks seem more like an animation problem as I don't think the arrow animation stops once it hits the rocks, giving the placebo that you're being hit. (don't take my word for it, I'm not their dev). The animations, in general, aren't in sync for the most part with the actual skills and effects, i.e using Chest Splitter on a speed set and you'll miss most of your hits because it seems it registers your position beyond where the animation actually is, you'll have to stay still for it to hit the way you want to.

    That or you're right about the ping messing your game, dunno :/
    300 ping is actually huge. It means theres 3 tenths of a second delay for everything. 3 tenths of a second in pvp is gamechanging. @OP I see you posted on an ipad. Are you also playing on an ipad? You might get a faster connection using an ethernet cord with a pc/laptop than playing over wifi on a tablet

  26. #19
    Senior Member Spooked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Probably not where you are
    Posts
    926
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    63
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    303
    Thanked in
    184 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeus View Post
    It still won't be true 50 ping, as you have to now add in the ms delay of the cloud vpn. However, it will be a lot better than 300 ping. That approach will probably be a 100-150 true ping.
    I would still call that very cost efficient considering hes said to live in china

  27. #20
    Forum Adept
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    404
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spooked View Post
    I would still call that very cost efficient considering hes said to live in china
    Im in China use vpn,but best ping is 300. And
    sometimes disconnect......not stable

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to get lower ping?
    By Monsteriveelt in forum AL General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-15-2017, 04:25 PM
  2. How to lower "PING" !?
    By Bous in forum Off-Topic Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-16-2014, 07:58 PM
  3. Lower Hauntlet
    By Visiting in forum AL General Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-20-2014, 08:01 AM
  4. Constant heavy lag no ping/red ping 1100+
    By Fiio in forum DL General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-25-2014, 05:30 PM
  5. Lower the towns' population cap even lower! (Please)
    By Cahaun in forum AL Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-2013, 04:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •